The Oldies Music Board

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

February 18, 2023 12:19 pm  #1

Experts reveal the formula for the ultimate cheerful tunes

When you're feeling down, there's nothing quite like a happy song to bring a smile back to your face. 
Now, a music psychologist has discovered the formula for the happiest songs in the world - and the tune that best follows it is 'Good Vibrations' by The Beach Boys.  
Dr Michael Bonshor from the University of Sheffield found that the most uplifting tracks have a tempo of 137 beats per minute (bpm) and a regular verse-chorus-verse-chorus structure, but are peppered with unpredictable elements like a key change or 'seventh chords'.
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-11754521/Experts-reveal-happiest-songs-world-Good-Vibrations-YMCA-topping-list.html

February 19, 2023 8:35 am  #2

Re: Experts reveal the formula for the ultimate cheerful tunes

I have no knowledge of beats-per-minute or chorus structure, but the article got me thinking about some of my favorite oldies songs that would make the list of "Ultimate Cheerful Tunes".  

Friday On My Mind - The Easybeats
Happy Together - The Turtles
Here Comes  My Baby - The Tremeloes
Double Shot (Of My Baby's Love) - The Swinging Medallions

More suggestions?

February 19, 2023 10:29 am  #3

I can't hear Manfred Mann's version of "Doo Wah Diddy" without brightening up. 

I was once in a radio newsroom during a meeting and at a dull point in the proceedings (and there were lots of those!) I suddenly thought of this song. And during one of the long silences, I said, "There she was just walking down the street singing..." And I stopped.